"Celebrating the Celebrated"                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Our Boston Mini-Reunion featured a celebration of classmates who have won lifetime achievement awards or the equivalent in their fields. Of the thirteen honorees, eight were able to attend the dinner and tell us a little about their accomplishments.  We were inspired by their passion for their work and gratified to learn that some of them credited Wellesley teachers with having made a significant difference in their lives. 


Of course, many other classmates have also made valuable contributions, not all of which are the kind that get acknowledged by lifetime achievement awards. As opportunities for women increased, many of us led the way and outdid all expectations. These thirteen honorees are some of the classmates who make us especially proud.



Descriptions in alphabetical order by first name


• Arleyn Pringle Leveeaal-portrait – has been elected by the American Society of Landscape Architects as an Honorary Member of the Society, a rare honor, for her scholarship and advocacy on behalf of historic landscape preservation. Her focus on the work of the Olmsted firm led to greater understanding of the extentand diversity of the firm’s practice; her research on numerous landscape architects and their projects expanded our understanding of how the profession has been shaped; and her advocacy with numerous historical and cultural landscape organizations has worked to promote informed stewardship to ensure that our historic landscapes endure for the enjoyment of future generations.

• Cdroppedimagearol Bensinger Liebman –received a lifetime achievement award from the Association for Conflict Resolution of Greater New York for her contribution and achievements in the field of conflict resolution. She was a pioneer in establishing the Mediation Clinic at Columbia Law   School. In addition, she received the Columbia University Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching.

carol-gluck-reduced • Carol Newman Gluck - received a Wellesley Alumnae Achievement Award in 1993 for outstanding work as a professor of modern Japanese history at Columbia University. In 2002, she received the Japan-United States Fulbright Program Distinguished Scholar Award; in 2006, she was honored by the government of Japan with the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon. Most recently, she was appointed the Cleveringa Professor at Leiden University for 2014-15.

• Jajackie-blankckie Parthemore Blank – was named a Master of the American College of Physicians for her leadership as Chief of Staff and Medical Director of the Veterans Affairs Hospital in San Diego and for her teaching role as Adjunct Professor of Medicine at the University of San Diego School of Medicine. Jackie was the longest standing female chief-of-staff in the entire VA Health system.


• Jane Gimg_13_21492_5930illespie Grimes - has been an extraordinary advocate for women’s tennis in the United States. She was the second woman president of the United State Tennis Association in its 135-year history, and she has recently been enshrined in the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island.


• Laurlaurel-lunt-prussing-reducedel Lunt Prussing - An economist, Laurel began public service in 1972- one of three women elected to the Champaign County Board.  She was elected County Auditor in 1976 and State Representative in 1992.  In 2005 she was elected Mayor of Urbana, Illinois—the first woman. She has tackled many tough issues including a case now before the Illinois Supreme Court, challenging a state law exempting “non-profit” hospitals from property taxes.  (An Urbana hospital is one of the ten most profitable in the United States.)


martha-ronk* Martha Ronk – has received multiple awards for excellence and innovation in poetry, including being named to the long list for the National Book Award for Transfer of Qualities (2013), one of the 10 best poetry books of 2013.  She also received the Western PEN poetry award, and was included in the National Poetry Series. Her additional honors include the PIP Gertrude Stein Award for Innovative Poetry and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. Martha has published ten books of poetry and she has another one, Optical Proof, due out this fall. In addition, she has attended the MacDowell artist colony three times.

• Marymary-welsh-baskett Welsh Baskett –received the Tokyo Commendation Award from the Japanese Foreign Minister for her contribution to cultural exchange between Japan and the United States through her scholarship, collection, display and interpretation of Japanese fashion. Her commitment to wear this art that fits the body is unique. Her solo exhibits and contributions of her collection to other groundbreaking exhibitions. The recent Mary Baskett Collection of Japanese Fashion at the Crow Collection of Asian Art in Dallas is just one recent example.

* Rozrosalind-krauss Epstein Krauss – has been called a “rock star” in the art world by today’s students.  In 2012 she received an honorary degree from Harvard University for pioneering work as historian, critic and theorist of twentieth-century art. Recently, she received the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art from the 104-year old College Art Association.




* Theo Katheodorakalikowforweblikow – has had years of success and leadership in the academic world, most recently as President of the University of Maine at Farmington, which she led for 18 years, and then "in retirement" as President of Southern Maine University. In September 2015, the University of Maine at Farmington renamed the Education Center the "Theodora J. Kalikow Education Center. Theo has also medaled in the Senior Olympics and has been a leader in women’s and feminist studies and actions over the years.

•  Susan susandworkin3140Levine Dworkin - After publishing half a dozen plays and fourteen books, Susan recently enjoyed double success. Her book, The Nazi Officer’s Wife, made the New York Times best seller list for paperbacks and e-books for several months, and her book, The Viking in the Wheat Field, was widely acclaimed for bringing knowledge to the public about a critical issue in future food supplies.


* Sphoto-1usan Sessions Zuccotti – was selected to received the Independent Publishers Gold Medal recently for “outstanding world history” for her biography, Pere Marie-Benoit and Jewish Rescue,” her fifth book.  Among other awards, she has also won the National Jewish Book Award twice, once in the field of Holocaust studies and once in that of Jewish-Christian relations. Her continuing research and writing in Holocaust studies is a deeply admirable commitmen



• Vivian vivian-pinn--reduced-Pinn –Wellesley College honored Vivian with the Alumnae Achievement Award for her ground-breaking work as the first director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health at the National Institutes of Health, for her work with medical and scientific communities, her leadership in the field of medicine, and her excellence in teaching. The Women’s Health Initiative, which she directed, undertook studies and gathered data from more than 150,000 women. She has the special honor of having a College of Medicine named after her at the University of Virginia Medical School. Tufts Medical School dedicated its Office of Student Affairs to her, and it recently gave her the rarely awarded Dean’s Medal of Honor. In addition, Vivian has received fourteen Honorary Degrees of Law and Science.